Our Faculty

UC Santa Cruz students learn from some of the best faculty in the world. UCSC has earned national and international recognition for high impact research and world-class teaching. Faculty include 24 members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 14 members of the National Academy of Sciences, and 33 members of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Endowed chairs enable UC Santa Cruz to recognize, foster, and support academic excellence. They help attract and retain outstanding faculty and graduate students. Chairs may provide a wide range of benefits, including salary or stipends for assistants or graduate students, equipment, curriculum costs, publication costs, summer activities, travel, and base-salary and/or augmentation of state-supported salary and benefits for the chair holder. 

Endowing a Chair

UC Santa Cruz has determined minimum financial levels for establishing an endowed chair, professorship, or other salary-supporting endowment. At these levels the donor will have the opportunity to name the endowment fund. If you want to learn more about creating an endowed chair, please contact a development officer.

Endowed Chair, Dean and University Librarian $5,000,000
University Endowed Chair $3,000,000
Administrative Chair $1,500,000
Endowed Chair $1,000,000
Professorship  $500,000
Visiting Scholar $350,000
Postdoctoral Fellowship $350,000
Endowed Staff $250,000

Celebrating New Endowed Chairs

UCSC is proud to announce the creation of two brand-new endowed chairs: one in entrepreneurship, and one that will benefit the campus's groundbreaking Global Information Internship Program. - Read more 

See Also